September 28

9/27 chairs

Last week in science class we worked on our chairs. We are building chairs out of two pieces of plywood. One piece fits into the other and each piece faces opposite directions so it makes a strange chair. On Monday I worked on finishing my Interesting Insects project. On Wednesday I worked on my Insect project and marked out the cuts I needed to make on the plywood. On Thursday I cut and screwed my boards. On Friday I painted the base color on my

FullSizeRender

I learned how to use a jigsaw, but it was really loud. I learned that the paint I was using was oil-based and didn’t come off my hands easily. I learned that giraffe weevils fight with their long necks. I’m very excited to finish painting my chair, because I’m doing something with some my friends. 

Why are giraffe weevils black and red?

Why are we building chairs?

What is the science behind how the chairs work?


Posted September 28, 2020 by josies2021 in category Uncategorized

1 thoughts on “9/27 chairs

  1. Shane Boland Harrison

    This is a funny upside down in and out post. First off I am glad you liked learning about “international” insects. Secondly, we are building chairs to learn power tool skills, to sit on outdoors, and to be creative. I LOVED your video and always wonder how in the heck did she do that! As for your questions: the giraffe weevils must have had an evolutionary advantage to being black and red and there is a lot of engineering that goes into the building of a chair. Major companies create them based on how the human body best works. Your chair will be awesome I am sure:)

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*