December 9

12/8 Virus and Bacteria

This week in science we worked on our bacteria and virus projects. We simulated bacteria killing processes to find out which was the best. To do this we used this kind of powder (which simulates bacteria) that only shows up with a black light, and mixed that with lotion. We then tested whether washing your hands worked better than using hand sanitizer and whether cold water worked better than warm etc.. We timed ourselves and measured the amounts of soap/sanitizer used. I learned that using hot water and using soap works better than using cold/sanitizer. I also learned that you can never be too careful when washing your hands.

We also worked on our petri dish projects. We got in groups of three our four, then planned out what was to be swabbed and by who. Then we went home and boiled water to dip our cutips in (so that we could sterilize them). After that I swabbed my dog’s teeth, my shower floor, the bottom of my kitchen sink, and one of my plates. For our virus projects we had to make a wanted dead poster and a slideshow. We had to learn about a virus and pretend that we are that virus. Then we had to brag or whine about our job in the slideshow.

Why doesn’t sanitizer work as well as soap?

What is the dirtiest place in my house?

How many years did smallpox exist?


Posted December 9, 2019 by josies2021 in category Uncategorized

1 thoughts on “12/8 Virus and Bacteria

  1. Shane Boland Harrison

    I think hand sanitizer just kills the bacteria but doesn’t remove the dirt and viruses. It just moves the dirt around!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*